PJ Harvey’s extraneous works, drawings and writings

May 22, 2011

PJ Harvey, a cantora do aclamado ‘Let England Shake’, anunciou sua intenção de ‘publicar regularmente’ trabalhos de arte e escritos em que vem trabalhando nos últimos vinte anos.

A inspiração veio depois de uma experiência positiva como guest designer para a revista Zoetrope: All-Story, de Francis Ford Coppola em 2010. “Comecei como uma artista visual, não uma cantora”, afirmou Harvey. “Eu iria estudar escultura… mas aí o caminho em direção à música se abriu para mim. Tive a oportunidade de gravar um disco e acabei não me formando.”

Entretanto, as artes visuais continuaram a fazer parte da vida dela. “Eu levo meu trabalho comigo”. Harvey disse. “Como eu escrevo, desenho e pinto todos os dias, isso é parte da minha vida. Na verdade, escrever músicas para mim é um processo muito visual também.”

Visíveis Virtudes mal pode esperar para o que ela chama de “estranhos trabalhos, desenhos e escritos que não são música, apenas outras coisas que eu faço” serem publicados.

————–
PJ Harvey, the singer-songwriter of the acclaimed ‘Let England Shake’, has announced her intention to ‘regularly release’ artwork and writings she has been working on for twenty years.

The inpiration came after a positive experience as a guest designer for Francis Ford Coppola’s magazine Zoetrope: All-Story, in 2010. CMy beginnings were as a visual artist, not a musician,” Harvey said. “I was going to do a degree in sculpture … but then the path towards music opened up for me. I had an opportunity to make a record and it took me away from ever doing that.”

Visual art has remained part of her life, though. “I take my work with me”, Harvey said. “As I write every day, I draw and paint every day and it’s just part of my life. In fact, songwriting is, for me, a very visual process as well.”

Visíveis Virtudes can hardly wait for what she calls “extraneous works, drawings and writings that aren’t songs, but just other things that I do” to be released.

One Response to “PJ Harvey’s extraneous works, drawings and writings”

  1. Dadá Says:

    I simply love her!

Leave a Reply

